About us

The club boasts over thirty boats, two boathouses and is home to three of Ireland's 2008 Olympic rowers - Paul Griffin, Sean Casey and Cathal Moynihan.

Between the mid 19th century and the late 1980s, Muckross RC competed primarily in the traditional Killarney Regatta (reputedly the world's oldest surviving regatta), which still to this day pits six local clubs in Killarney against each other for top local honours.

Muckross RC joined the Irish Amateur Rowing Union in 1992 to bring the club in to the modern era of rowing. The club faced a sharp learning curve, joining the league of Irish clubs rowing in Olympic class boats since 1912. This was a new way of rowing for Muckross... but the bug bit! The club mushroomed in membership, effort and talent. Dubbed "agricultural rowers" by some during the early 1990s, the club won its first national title in 1996. Since then the club has enjoyed unprecedented success on the national and international stage. Club members have rowed for Ireland at the Home Internationals, Coupe de la Jeunesse, World Cup, World Championships and Olympic Games.

In 2010, the club celebrated its 30th Irish Championship win.